Berkeley/Bay Area Meet-up, Shut up, Listen up Groups

I’m signed UP for every Meet-up under the sun trying to connect up with the Bay area mystical, meditation-al, musical, Muse-inspired community. This includes my membership in Bay area International Creative souls, Shut up and Write! Listen Up and don’t speak up– Berkeley Writer’s Circle. (By-laws: three mandatory visits minus a double-spaced manuscript) “Silence is Golden” through the initiation period. I can’t share, just stare. They want to head off being stood-UP by an UPp-ity new member who wants to UPstage the regulars. What??

Should I go back to Shut Up and Write? sandwiched between two Mac Books at Mo Joe’s Cafe beyond dreary University Avenue?

But I was re-routed to the Berkeley Circle for group sharing by a Shut UP leader, so I cancelled my shape UP session at the Y.

That was before the Shut Up Moderator sent me off to SF Writers Group, with its share of stuck-Up members who want nothing to do with an UP and coming Blogger. (three hang-ups and waiting)

In any case, I’d be UP-staged by the fiction writers who don’t recognize UPward striving creators like myself who publish day-to-day real-life commentaries that vanish in the wind. (like a kite up in the sky)

So Onward and Up-ward I say, despite the obstacles. As a last resort, I’ll do Stand-up if I’m forced to Shut Up.

Wait! I have FIVE more Meetups to attend before I freeze-UP, choke-Up, clam-up, and give-up!

Artists Who THRIVE Member
. Bay Area Creative Joy Member
. The Bay Area Creative-Immersion Meditation Practice Member
. Bay Area Improv Member
. East Bay International Creative Community Member

What about a Laugh-it-up group at the Indian reservation? I hadn’t even dreamed that one up until now.

Oops, I mixed it up with Bay area Laughter Yoga Meet-up in Oakland!

Okay, I’ll leave it UP to the Moderators to put up or shut up and refer me to the WRITE meet-up so I can settle in without UP-rooting anyone.

That about sums it Up!

About arioso7: Shirley Kirsten

International piano teacher by Skype, recording artist, composer, piano finder, freelance writer, film maker, story teller: Grad of the NYC HS of Performing Arts, Oberlin Conservatory, NYU (Master of Arts) Studies with Lillian Freundlich and Ena Bronstein; Master classes with Murray Perahia and Oxana Yablonskaya. Studios in BERKELEY and EL CERRITO, California; Member, Music Teachers Assoc. of California, MTAC; Distance learning and Skyped instruction with supplementary videos: SKYPE ID, shirleypiano1 Contact me at: shirley_kirsten@yahoo.com OR http://www.youtube.com/arioso7 or at FACEBOOK: Shirley Smith Kirsten, http://facebook.com /shirley.kirsten TWITTER: http://twitter.com/arioso7 Private fund-raising for non-profits as pianist--Public Speaking re: piano teaching and creative approaches
This entry was posted in Berkeley Writers Circle, Sf Writers group, Shut up and Write Meet-up, word press, word press.com, wordpress, wordpress.com and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Berkeley/Bay Area Meet-up, Shut up, Listen up Groups

  1. By the end, I was smiling every time I saw the word “UP”. Those snobbish “professional” writers may not appreciate your creativity but there are those of us who do!

    Like

    • Thanks, Christine. I have to be grateful for avoiding a blow-up with the Shut-up and write moderator who was miffed when I abrUPtly packed my stuff UP after sizing UP the situation.

      Yes, to be sure, some people out here in the Bay have something UP their…. .

      Shirley

      Like

Leave a Reply

