Multi-cam views during Skype or Facetime piano lessons

I’m now a three-time Logitech webcam user with a long range panoramic capability and two close-up keyboard views, (including an overhead) that’s a mouse tap away. For trill and ornament demonstrations, I highlight the second or third LOGITECH option listed on my Preferences window and can easily switch back to the longer range image with another click. (first view) The FULL SCREEN option is recommended.

To add multi web cams to the mix, I downloaded the Manycam program to my iMac. (It’s FREE)

For Panorama: C910HD1080 (Place cam on end block of piano, high treble side)
20140126_094905
Close-up below: C615HD1080 (clipped to a music stand to the left of me)
20140126_094305

closeup camera 3  left of me
My Close-up cam sits on a music stand by specific marked placement. (You can see it in the first photo where I’ve activated the whole piano view)

I chose not to tripod the C615, even though it has a convenient mount because I needed the perfect height for my close-up angle and stacking books on a nearby wooden stool with a tripod atop was shaky. (The C615 has a flexible head that can rotate 360 degrees and comes with an adapter and 3 foot cable extension. I added another 72″ for more reach/flexibility)

Another Perspective: The Overhead Keyboard View (I use a plastic photo frame, secured under my piano rack, to mount C615–I move the cam from side to side)
20140127_071956

Here’s what the student sees, but with FULL SCREEN option:
20140127_072055

For a pedal close-up, I activated the C615HD1080. It afforded an opportunity to graphically demonstrate legato pedaling. (You can see the student’s upright piano, and my pedal shown in the lower left box.) She had the full screen view of my foot on the pedal. We are working on “In the Church” by Tchaikovsky which requires sensitive, clear pedaling.

Logitech pedal

20140127_073254

For sound clarity, the Yeti mic is my preference over the Mac’s internal mic, and it’s an option on SKYPE and FACETIME.

yeti mic

Here’s an adult student’s keyboard view beamed in from UK. She has the single panoramic perspective:

panoramic view of student piano UK

Another Skype student’s view:
piano closeup Central Valley

***

Having the three-cam option (if not more) improves the quality of web-transmitted lessons, benefiting both student and teacher.

LINK

http://arioso7.wordpress.com/2014/10/23/a-piano-lesson-by-skype-primer/

About arioso7: Shirley Kirsten

International piano teacher by Skype, recording artist, composer, piano finder, freelance writer, film maker, story teller: Grad of the NYC HS of Performing Arts, Oberlin Conservatory, NYU (Master of Arts) Studies with Lillian Freundlich and Ena Bronstein; Master classes with Murray Perahia and Oxana Yablonskaya. Studios in BERKELEY and EL CERRITO, California; Member, Music Teachers Assoc. of California, MTAC; Distance learning and Skyped instruction with supplementary videos: SKYPE ID, shirleypiano1 Contact me at: shirley_kirsten@yahoo.com OR http://www.youtube.com/arioso7 or at FACEBOOK: Shirley Smith Kirsten, http://facebook.com /shirley.kirsten TWITTER: http://twitter.com/arioso7 Private fund-raising for non-profits as pianist--Public Speaking re: piano teaching and creative approaches
This entry was posted in LogitechC615HS1080, Skype preferences, youtube.com and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Multi-cam views during Skype or Facetime piano lessons

  1. S Meyers says:

    Great post. What useful information to share with others and so clearly presented. I hope people who can use it will find it.
    Sarah

    Like

  2. ingkavet says:

    That was great. I’ve been wondering how to do a multi-cam lesson. Thanks for sharing!
    Andrew

    Like

Leave a Reply

