About the physical side of playing piano: What we need to teach at all levels (Videos)

I wish I could have waved a magic wand when I was six years old and produced a beginning teacher who would have artfully nursed me through my crawling stage to a graceful, phrase-loving adulthood at the piano. I needed to learn how to produce a singing tone, moving with agility from one note to another under the physical guidance of my mentor, but there was no one with such capability on the horizon.

Instead, I remember seven years of torment and frustration when what I knew as my tonal ideal deep within me never materialized. My tiny, but growing hands betrayed me time and again. I couldn’t put my imagination to work in a practical way without hands-on knowledge.

At the age of 13 or so, when I entered the New York City High School of Performing Arts, which was an easy entrance since I played the violin as well, and string players were always in short supply for school orchestras, I finally transferred to a piano teacher who brought me back to the basics which I desperately needed.

Like Irina Gorin (whose teaching videos I’ve shared), Lillian Lefkofsky Freundlich took the time to step back, and work with me on a NOTE-to-NOTE basis, DROPPING my whole arm, with dead weight gravity into the keys– my fingers being cushioned by a supple wrist.

As she held my arm until I let go of all tension, I exercised repeated free falls as if I were tossed out of a plane with a parachute, experiencing the abandon of disarming flight. She would check my wrists and elbows for tension, and then together, we weeded out all the pokes, like pencil point jabs that disturbed the flow from one tone to the next. In the process, my ear sensitivity was stretched to a point where even a dog couldn’t compete with me if one of those high-frequencey whistles summoned him at an inopportune moment.

This introduction to my lessons transpired for weeks with little if any repertoire covered, and I was grateful to ingest what I hungered for in my formative piano learning years. Scales and arpeggios were next, putting principles of RELAXATION, attentive listening and tonal focus to work. And never once did I regret the necessary pause before I was given my very first Mozart Sonata, K. 311 where I put all the tonal awareness and physical knowledge into practice. Soon followed the Chopin Nocturne in E minor, Beethoven’s second Piano Concerto and Mozart’s K. 453 in G Major. It was icing on the cake to perform the Mozart with our High School Orchestra after I auditioned it for Nadia Reisenberg. I’m convinced that my singing tone earned me this memorable opportunity.

So now that I’ve grown up to be a piano teacher following in the footsteps of Lillian Freundlich whom I dearly miss since her death many years ago, I’ve continued her legacy by spending inordinate time with my students on tone production, relaxation and riveting note-to-note listening–all ingredients of fluid playing.

As example, here are two videos that impart practical knowledge about the physical side of playing when teaching students from the earliest to most advanced levels.

(Snatched from a piano lesson given by Irina Gorin, creator, Tales of a Musical Journey)

A gem produced by Barbara Lister-Sink

Finally, what I’ve learned from Mrs. Freundlich and Irina Gorin (by Internet exposure) is that it takes a patient teacher with undying passion to go back to the very physical fundamentals of tone production, teaching the singing tone legato as the underpinning of piano playing, regardless of style or genre. Such meticulous work will produce limitless dividends as students enjoy a life-long connection to the piano that brings them closer to the very soul of music-making.

RELATED:

An example of whole body listening, relaxation, and pianistic fluency:

RELATED:

About arioso7: Shirley Kirsten

International piano teacher by Skype, recording artist, composer, piano finder, freelance writer, film maker, story teller: Grad of the NYC HS of Performing Arts, Oberlin Conservatory, NYU (Master of Arts) Studies with Lillian Freundlich and Ena Bronstein; Master classes with Murray Perahia and Oxana Yablonskaya. Studios in BERKELEY and EL CERRITO, California; Member, Music Teachers Assoc. of California, MTAC; Distance learning and Skyped instruction with supplementary videos: SKYPE ID, shirleypiano1 Contact me at: shirley_kirsten@yahoo.com OR http://www.youtube.com/arioso7 or at FACEBOOK: Shirley Smith Kirsten, http://facebook.com /shirley.kirsten TWITTER: http://twitter.com/arioso7 Private fund-raising for non-profits as pianist--Public Speaking re: piano teaching and creative approaches
This entry was posted in Barbara Lister-Sink, ear training, El Cerrito, El Cerrito California, El Cerrito piano studio, Irina Gorin, keyboard technique, Major and minor scales, mental imagery, New York City High School of Performing Arts, New York University, Oberlin Conservatory, phrasing at the piano, piano pedagogy, piano practicing, piano society, Piano Street, piano student, piano studio, piano teacher, piano teaching repertoire, piano technique, Piano World, pianoaddict.com, Pianostreet.com, pianoworld, pianoworld.com, playing piano, self-analysis, Shirley Kirsten, Shirley Kirsten blog, Shirley Smith Kirsten, singing tone legato, slow piano practicing, Steinway M grand piano, talkclassical.com, Teach Street, teaching piano, teaching piano scales, teaching piano to children, teaching piano to teenagers, technique, whole body listening, whole body music listening, word press, wordpress.com, you tube, you tube video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to About the physical side of playing piano: What we need to teach at all levels (Videos)

  1. Lisa says:

    My teachers never emphasized this physical aspect either, and some of this is a revelation. Never too late to learn!

    Like

  2. Sometimes we are at the right place at the right time, when we meet up with an inspiring and knowledgeable teacher. Seems everyone has a story about how they fell upon their most revered mentor. Mine turned up in Carnegie Hall well before I had interviewed with her. She was holding an Urtext edition as she followed every note the great pianist, Richter played, In the company of what appeared to be a student, she audibly shuffled through music and was commenting on this and that.. Seeking a quieter area, my mother and I moved a row up, in the far reaches of the upper balcony. Lo and behold this same woman turned up at W. 105th Street, her Riverside drive townhouse, greeting me for the first time as I had planned to play for her. At that moment, I knew she was going to be my teacher.

    Like

  3. John Kilbourne says:

    I appreciate reading, considering and applying these kind of teachings.

    I am also very surprised at how difficult they seem to be to find in the internet world. There is ALL KINDS of cool, deep, interesting, substantial things on the internet (distributed like sesame seeds in a Kardashian muffin so to speak). But not much of this stuff.

    Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

