Piano Instruction: Clementi Sonatina in C, Op. 36 No. 3 (parts 1 and 2) and a Skyped lesson-in-progress recorded by camcorder

Supplements to Skyped lessons come in two forms. I will either send an unlisted mid-week video to a long-distance learner as a brush-up, or I’ll upload public videos that can be universally shared.

Both help me crystallize how I will phrase a composition and teach it. The student, in an interactive role, feeds me ideas that are processed and put to work in each subsequent lesson. The growth process is dynamic and ongoing.

In this revisit of Clementi’s Sonatina in C, Op. 36, No. 3, I sat beside by iMAC in the morning facing a pupil in Greece, while my camcorder was set up to capture a clear view of my hands for the student’s benefit.

Routinely, I record these lessons, unless pupils object. Most often they’re pleased to have pivotal excerpts of footage sent to them following our web exchange. Where transmission-related problems might temporarily interrupt a lesson-in-progress, supplementary videos reclaim valuable teaching moments.

The follow-up to my Greece to California SKYPE, included three supplements:

Instructional videos (part 1 and Part 2) made separately in my studio and uploaded to You Tube. (I. Exposition, II. Development to Recapitulation)

A five-minute excerpt of the pupil’s Skyped lesson-in-progress uploaded to You Tube.

All three were sent to the student to assist his practicing during the week.

But first a play through, movement 1, Spiritoso

P.S. I appear as a ghost in my first tutorial since my piano lamp splashed unintended light beams in my direction.

SKYPE Excerpt, California to Greece:

About arioso7: Shirley Kirsten

International piano teacher by Skype, recording artist, composer, piano finder, freelance writer, film maker, story teller: Grad of the NYC HS of Performing Arts, Oberlin Conservatory, NYU (Master of Arts) Studies with Lillian Freundlich and Ena Bronstein; Master classes with Murray Perahia and Oxana Yablonskaya. Studios in BERKELEY and EL CERRITO, California; Member, Music Teachers Assoc. of California, MTAC; Distance learning and Skyped instruction with supplementary videos: SKYPE ID, shirleypiano1 Contact me at: shirley_kirsten@yahoo.com OR http://www.youtube.com/arioso7 or at FACEBOOK: Shirley Smith Kirsten, http://facebook.com /shirley.kirsten TWITTER: http://twitter.com/arioso7 Private fund-raising for non-profits as pianist--Public Speaking re: piano teaching and creative approaches
This entry was posted in Clementi Sonatina Op. 36 no. 3, Journal of a Piano Teacher from New York to California, long distance piano learning, piano, piano lessons, piano lessons by Skype, playing piano, Shirley Kirsten, Shirley Smith Kirsten, skyped piano lessons, teaching piano online, word press, word press.com, wordpress, wordpress.com, you tube, you tube.com, yout tube, youtube.com and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

