Arioso7's Blog (Shirley Kirsten)

Here are riveting quotes from two adult students:
The Italics are my emphasis.

1) “I feel like I’m in the adult student ghetto, where much latitude is given and few results are expected. We’re all supposed to be doing it ‘for fun.’ In a way, of course, that’s right. But in another way, if we wanted pure fun we’d spend our free time riding roller coasters.” http://www.mymusiclifeblog.blogspot.com/

2) “Here’s what I believe teachers often find among adult students:

“Wanting to be able to play favorite music without taking much time and without getting into depth that would create musicianship. That is the experience, and therefore the expectation with adult students.

“Result: Either adult students are rejected by good teachers (leaving us with those who have to take anyone), or the teaching is geared to that mindset. This is the general picture out there.”

“…. Supposing that the adult has…

View original post 1,246 more words

About arioso7: Shirley Kirsten

International piano teacher by Skype, recording artist, composer, piano finder, freelance writer, film maker, story teller: Grad of the NYC HS of Performing Arts, Oberlin Conservatory, NYU (Master of Arts) Studies with Lillian Freundlich and Ena Bronstein; Master classes with Murray Perahia and Oxana Yablonskaya. Studios in BERKELEY and EL CERRITO, California; Member, Music Teachers Assoc. of California, MTAC; Distance learning and Skyped instruction with supplementary videos: SKYPE ID, shirleypiano1 Contact me at: shirley_kirsten@yahoo.com OR http://www.youtube.com/arioso7 or at FACEBOOK: Shirley Smith Kirsten, http://facebook.com /shirley.kirsten TWITTER: http://twitter.com/arioso7 Private fund-raising for non-profits as pianist--Public Speaking re: piano teaching and creative approaches
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Carol Machael says:

    I am an adult student–69 y.o–who took lessons for a few years as a child and when I retired wanted to REALLY learn to play. My lessons are often the most important thing I do all week and I care deeply how well I am able to meet the expectations of my excellent teacher.

    Having said that, however, I am unsure as to whether I am being held to the same standards, and even whether I am able to meet the standards, of some of her serious younger students. I love the wide variety of repertoire, the fact that my teacher allows me to choose to a certain extent, but also the fact that she pushes me to learn music I would/could never have attempted on my own.

    I often feel insecure–maybe am unable to play as quickly (rapid noteplaying) as younger students and often wonder whether I am hindered by my age in other ways. One way I am certain I am the equal of any student is in my drive to accomplish and my commitment to my lessons.

    Like

    • I’m impressed with your enthusiasm about lessons, and dedication to your musical growth and development. Certainly age is no hindrance to joyful piano playing. Why compare yourself to any other students, when each musical journey is unique and valid unto itself? All my adult students are special and give so much to me through their personal adventures and awakenings. One is in her 70s and hungry to learn and take patient, baby steps in the process. It sounds like you have a quality teacher and are moving forward. I commend you for all of this. Shirley K

      Like

Leave a Reply

