My Favorite J.S. Bach Little Preludes

I’ve been practicing a slew of them at the instigation of a go-getter Skype student who sends these in droves. It means I have to set everything aside and dive in, to keep up with the turnover.

I had one other adult student who rivaled the importer of Baroque beauties. She loved Chopin so much, that she e-mailed me a new Etude to learn nearly every week. (The Thai translator was sure be on the same page as me–or possibly in reverse?)

Both these pupils kept me in tip-top shape, though teetering on the brink of insanity.

Therefore, I advise my troop to slow down for my sake if not their own.

Pieces MUST ripen with time because they don’t magically take form overnight. And I’m a living testimony to this assertion.

For instance, I’ve been known to prematurely post some of my Little Prelude performances on Facebook when they should be on the back burner, simmering for awhile.

Yet, as I’ve told a colleague by e-mail: “Sometimes the earliest impression of a piece is like experiencing a first sunset.”

Nonetheless, the longer one spends with a composition, in a layered-learning approach, the more the final tempo will take shape along with an infusion of love.

On that note, I’ve picked three of my favorite Little Preludes that were re-posted on You Tube. (In some cases, that meant I needed to spend an extra few days with them, in readiness for the next divine musical morsel soon to come my way.)

Little Prelude in D Minor, BWV 435

Little Prelude in G Minor, BWV 929

Little Prelude in E minor, BWV 938

LINK:

How Long Should a Student Stay With A Piece?

https://arioso7.wordpress.com/2011/05/12/how-long-should-a-piano-student-stay-with-a-piece/

About arioso7: Shirley Kirsten

International piano teacher by Skype, recording artist, composer, piano finder, freelance writer, film maker, story teller: Grad of the NYC HS of Performing Arts, Oberlin Conservatory, NYU (Master of Arts) Studies with Lillian Freundlich and Ena Bronstein; Master classes with Murray Perahia and Oxana Yablonskaya. Studios in BERKELEY and EL CERRITO, California; Member, Music Teachers Assoc. of California, MTAC; Distance learning and Skyped instruction with supplementary videos: SKYPE ID, shirleypiano1 Contact me at: shirley_kirsten@yahoo.com OR http://www.youtube.com/arioso7 or at FACEBOOK: Shirley Smith Kirsten, http://facebook.com /shirley.kirsten TWITTER: http://twitter.com/arioso7 Private fund-raising for non-profits as pianist--Public Speaking re: piano teaching and creative approaches
This entry was posted in Baroque keyboard music, Baroque music, classissima, classissima.com, J.S. Bach, J.S. Bach Little Preludes, Journal of a Piano Teacher from New York to California, piano, piano addict, piano instruction, piano lessons, Shirley Kirsten, Shirley Smith Kirsten, the piano learning process, word press.com, wordpress, wordpress.com, you tube, you tube video, yout tube, youtube.com and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

