The funniest adult piano student confessions

1) I couldn’t get to the piano this week because of my constipated cat.

2) I can’t play the Bb scale because it gets all “gummed up.” (????)

3) The cleaning lady was vacuuming the piano, inside and out.

4) We were away on a whale-watching expedition in Baja.

5) We changed the clocks so I have jet lag (????)

6) My cackling parakeets always drown me out!

7) I get dizzy spells every time I play in contrary motion.

8) My digital piano lost power.

9) I’m needing a vacation from scales and arpeggios.

10) We went on an African jungle safari and I fell off an elephant.

11) I’ll have to cancel my lesson because of the weather. It’s too gorgeous to be indoors.

12) Skype me to the moon, I completely forgot about piano class.

13) Did you say I had to practice this week? I forgot…

14) What piece am I studying?

15) Where’s middle C? Can you send me a video?

16) I’m out to lunch, contact me in a few months about resuming piano lessons.

About arioso7: Shirley Kirsten

International piano teacher by Skype, recording artist, composer, piano finder, freelance writer, film maker, story teller: Grad of the NYC HS of Performing Arts, Oberlin Conservatory, NYU (Master of Arts) Studies with Lillian Freundlich and Ena Bronstein; Master classes with Murray Perahia and Oxana Yablonskaya. Studios in BERKELEY and EL CERRITO, California; Member, Music Teachers Assoc. of California, MTAC; Distance learning and Skyped instruction with supplementary videos: SKYPE ID, shirleypiano1 Contact me at: shirley_kirsten@yahoo.com OR http://www.youtube.com/arioso7 or at FACEBOOK: Shirley Smith Kirsten, http://facebook.com /shirley.kirsten TWITTER: http://twitter.com/arioso7 Private fund-raising for non-profits as pianist--Public Speaking re: piano teaching and creative approaches
This entry was posted in wordpress.com and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The funniest adult piano student confessions

  1. Irma says:

    OK, I recognize at least two, but at least two others could apply. To my knowledge my cat does not suffer from constipation and my cleaning lady is a man! So those two are OUT. These are very funny and I’ll have to remember the beautiful weather excuse, it’s totally legit.

    Like

  2. See you on Friday Facetime, barring good weather.

    Like

  3. Fran says:

    Hilarious Shirley! I have one to add -” Scales, did I have to play those? I don’t pay attention to them.”

    Your adult piano student confessions are the best though. I had a good laugh. Thank you.

    For young students who try the same thing out on me, I have had to number their books, with a big number 1 on their scale book. I tell them this is the first thing you need to play every day followed by number 2 which is usually a technique book. I tell them that their pieces are their dessert.

    Like

  4. Fran, Thanks for sharing your morsels of humor. Kids say the darndest things as Linkletter proved. I like your numbering system which pulls your students into line when needed. Great ideas!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

