Physical fitness and piano playing

me at gym upper arm workout

For the past few years, I’ve adhered to a fitness program that includes daily exercising at the Y gym. I don’t use weights because of their stress on my wrists, but I find the Gravitron (demonstrated in part one of my video) to be an upper body strength-builder. Particularly when I need added dead weight to apply directly into the keys, this pull-up routine has perfect application.

I set the bar at 70, meaning I have 40 of pounds resistance based on my 110 lb. body weight.

My second favorite work-out is at the tilted table holding a 6-pound ball that I swing from side-to-side, alternating with ab crunches.

The power ball also helps with leverage into the keys, especially when an extra big dynamic in the FORTE range is required.

“The Captain’s Chair,” so nicknamed by one of the Y resident trainers, is more of an ab tightener, though overall its fitness value is way up there.

The remaining machines showcased in my footage are used for bicep development–again to help with my upper body delivery of weight into the keys.

In a flashback video, I demonstrate my use of a 65 cm Go-fit stability ball which was obtained to relieve an acute back spasm that paralyzed me several months ago (without explanation) as I was sitting on the piano bench.

My routines with this ball have cured my back problems while they continue to promote spinal elasticity.

Daily brisk walks of 2 miles plus, round out my exercise program.

LINKS
A Musical Journey: Scarlatti, Schubert, and Chopin

http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/shirleyk

Scarlatti and Chopin

http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/shirleyk2

About arioso7: Shirley Kirsten

International piano teacher by Skype, recording artist, composer, piano finder, freelance writer, film maker, story teller: Grad of the NYC HS of Performing Arts, Oberlin Conservatory, NYU (Master of Arts) Studies with Lillian Freundlich and Ena Bronstein; Master classes with Murray Perahia and Oxana Yablonskaya. Studios in BERKELEY and EL CERRITO, California; Member, Music Teachers Assoc. of California, MTAC; Distance learning and Skyped instruction with supplementary videos: SKYPE ID, shirleypiano1 Contact me at: shirley_kirsten@yahoo.com OR http://www.youtube.com/arioso7 or at FACEBOOK: Shirley Smith Kirsten, http://facebook.com /shirley.kirsten TWITTER: http://twitter.com/arioso7 Private fund-raising for non-profits as pianist--Public Speaking re: piano teaching and creative approaches
This entry was posted in cdbaby.com, physical fitness routines, Shirley Kirsten and Scarlatti, youtube.com and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

