Playing J.S. Bach: Sing, Shape, and Phrase—it’s not rocket science

Having been submerged for 48 hours in mega-science minded theories of playing the piano, I managed to E-merge as the piano teacher I knew before the deluge–refusing to believe that my fingers are throwing hammers at the strings, or obeying the irrefutable laws of Physics.

Notwithstanding what Emanuel Ax, and Cedarville University *ProfessorJohn Mortensen are propagating in cyber, I’ve stayed virtually grounded, embracing the ART of playing the piano, with its magical, illusionary, SPIRITUAL dimension.

But in truth, it’s not rocket science to craft beautiful phrases and shape contoured lines. I proved it to myself and a dedicated Sunday morning Skype student during our singing tone model journey through J.S. Bach’s Courante. (French Suite No. 5 in G, BWV 816)

And here’s how it played out with not an iota of reference to accelerated hammer speeds.

Courante p.1

LINKS:

https://arioso7.wordpress.com/2014/11/14/does-approaching-notes-in-different-ways-at-the-piano-affect-tone-production/

*https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YIUXBhw-7Wo

About arioso7: Shirley Kirsten

International piano teacher by Skype, recording artist, composer, piano finder, freelance writer, film maker, story teller: Grad of the NYC HS of Performing Arts, Oberlin Conservatory, NYU (Master of Arts) Studies with Lillian Freundlich and Ena Bronstein; Master classes with Murray Perahia and Oxana Yablonskaya. Studios in BERKELEY and EL CERRITO, California; Member, Music Teachers Assoc. of California, MTAC; Distance learning and Skyped instruction with supplementary videos: SKYPE ID, shirleypiano1 Contact me at: shirley_kirsten@yahoo.com OR http://www.youtube.com/arioso7 or at FACEBOOK: Shirley Smith Kirsten, http://facebook.com /shirley.kirsten TWITTER: http://twitter.com/arioso7 Private fund-raising for non-profits as pianist--Public Speaking re: piano teaching and creative approaches
This entry was posted in adult piano instruction, Baroque keyboard music, Baroque music, BWV 816, Classsical music blog, French Suite in G BWV 816, J.S. Bach, Journal of a Piano Teacher from New York to California, piano, piano blog, piano lesson, Shirley Kirsten, word press, you tube and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Playing J.S. Bach: Sing, Shape, and Phrase—it’s not rocket science

  1. Nancie says:

    I recently upgraded my IMAC to Yosemite and tech. support had to restore my RSS feeds including yours. I don’t think I am getting any new posts by email and don’t want to miss any. I will try subscribing again…email rather than RSS is fine. I save them all. Yours is my favourite piano blog. Thanks for writing!!!!

    Like

    • Thanks for your note.. I didn’t upgrade to Yosemite for fear of mishaps, like I had with Mavericks which inactivated my Logitech C16 webs.. so I had to purchase new ones. Hopefully, things will smooth out, and thanks for following my blog. SK

      Like

Leave a Reply

