Uncategorized

Noteworthy Pianist Discoveries on You Tube!

Taking the lead from Seymour Bernstein, who sent out a mega-mailing to his List-Serve members about pianist, Orli Shaham, I dashed off to an embedded link of superlative Mozart playing. The reading was permeated by an ever present singing tone, nuanced articulations, and a broad breadth of emotional expression. ( As you scroll down to the you tube segment, observe Shaham’s relaxed arms, supple wrists, and her direct delivery of uninterrupted energy in the service of the music.) Technique is seamlessly woven into lyrical phrasing! Regardless of passagework rendered in slow or fast tempi, it’s always infused with a melodic thread.

In this universe of musical expression, I recall my endearing piano teacher, Lillian Freundlich, having emphasized contoured, FAST MELODY, without a top of keys, flat landscape.

Bernstein had reinforced my own excitement about Shaham’s artistry in his own words ….”one of the great Mozart players probably of all time…. Notice the huge dynamic range, especially into pp. Gorgeous!”

Seymour’s far longer rave review with dual Congratulations, was e-mailed to Ben Laude of Tone Base who’d featured Shaham on his platform. The laudatory note was meant to be copied to Orli.

For even more inspiration, I checked out one of Shaham’s tutorials that I snatched for its all encompassing analysis in a compact framing. It’s timeless, having been posted 13 years ago.

For more information about Shaham, check out her website: https://orlishaham.com

***

My Next Encounter with an Exceptional Pianist on You Tube:

The Wigmore Hall concert series from London, England introduced me to the superb artistry of Leon McCawley. These Six Mendelssohn Songs Without Words are mellifluously phrased with reams of heart-throbbing moments. With a varied dynamic palette and warm tone, the pianist produces ravishing phrases. It’s rare that I experience a musician like this, whom I cannot easily pass over through my You Tube surfs, being otherwise distracted by reams of Old World musical treasures along the way.

And not to overlook McCawley’s Magnificent Schubert!

https://leonmccawley.com

***

Finally, looking toward the youthful sprouting of gifted pianists, I was literally floored by a reading of Schumann’s Papillons by Eddison Chen, a 13 year old, who has currently reached the Quarterfinals of the Junior Van Cliburn Piano Competition. I’ve fast forwarded the track to his Schumann program segment, followed by a riveting George Gershwin (Wild) I Got Rhythm.


Quarterfinal Round–Eddiso
n Chen —Papillons 1:40:49 continues to the Gershwin selection. For the whole Program, start at 1:28:23

HAYDN Sonata in A-flat Major, Hob. XVI:46 (I)
CHOPIN Nocturne in D-flat Major, op. 27, no. 2
SCHUMANN Papillons, op. 2 1:40:49
GERSHWIN–WILD I Got Rhythm

Of added interest is a flashback to a piano lesson Eddison had with one of his early teachers. (It goes back 3 or more years)

While the use of the metronome was not one of the high points of the mentor’s instruction, I did support her suggestions about phrasing, emotional expression, and her having imparted ways to use the wrist for various inflections, and to melt cadences. (I don’t agree, however, with her advising the youngster to improve facial responses to the music.)

He is now studying at Peabody with Steven Spooner, and receives additional coaching at the University Kansas City, Missouri Conservatory from Sean Chen. I surely hope Eddison prevails at the Cliburn Junior Competition. To this end, I cast my audience vote for him today! (June 11, 2023)

https://cliburn.org/?performer=eddison-chen

3 thoughts on “Noteworthy Pianist Discoveries on You Tube!”

  1. Thanks for sharing your encounters in YouTube, amazing! I enjoyed reading your observations in regards to the pianists performances and when listening to their playing it just made it even more delightful.
    Stay well. With my best regards, Anabel

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.