Beethoven Emperor Concerto no. 5, classissima, classissima.com, Domenico Scarlatti, Facebook, Ludwig Van Beethoven, Minnesota Orchestra, Minnesota Orchestra, Murray Perahia, Osmo Vänskä., pianist, piano, Rachmaninoff, Russian pianist, Russian virtuoso pianist, Scriabin, Shirley Kirsten, Shirley Kirsten blog, Shirley Smith Kirsten, Uncategorized, word press, wordpress.com, Yevgeny Sudbin, you tube, you tube video

Yevgeny Sudbin, another Russian Pianist topples my day!


I had my heart set on working out at the gym before noon, but as fate had it, I was stopped in my tracks by the breathtaking artistry of Yevgeny Sudbin. (only 32 years old) And it was merely 24 hours after I’d cried over Nikolai Lugansky’s Schumann Intermezzo from Faschingsschwank aus Wien.

Could these two synchronized angels of the Muse share a gene for impassioned piano playing?

Regardless, I would sing like a nightingale about Sudbin, spreading his immense gifts far and wide.

Let’s start with the artist’s Scarlatti, a composer so very dear to me.

Three exemplary performances sweep the listener into a universe of beauty from the first measure to final cadence. Nuance, dynamics, impeccable phrasing, just the right touch, and tone to please. It’s manifestly clear that one of the pianist’s teachers was Murray Perahia. I can tell by the way in which the Baroque repertoire is communicated. Not too loud, too soft or frivolous in any way. A nice range of dynamics are bundled into the playing.

These examples are heartfelt:

Finally, a mouse tap to Sudbin’s official website fills in the missing details that surround his remarkable life and musical accomplishments.

http://www.yevgenysudbin.com/

4 thoughts on “Yevgeny Sudbin, another Russian Pianist topples my day!”

  1. Shirley, I am working on this Scarlatti in G Major. I absolutely love it, but boy is it a challenge (esp for someone with small hands). This version has a few more embellishments in the ending measures than mine does, but otherwise I love his reading of it.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.